Unexplainable Cravings: BF1

Standard

Last week I mentioned about my unexplainable cravings for games that distract me from getting through my backlog. In that post, I spoke about the desire I have to get back into Battlefield 1 and Rainbow Six: Siege. As of late, I’ve been very much a single-player gamer; enjoying titles like Horizon Zero Dawn, dabbing my fat toes into the pool that is Uncharted, Firewatch, Dying Light, over the past few months without much of an online noob-culling to whisper about.

But I kind of miss it.

The glory of competitive gaming and dragging your team over the finish line. The mouthwatering prospect of striking up vendettas against opposing players, creating nemesis’s left, right and centre, is pushing me towards slapping an online game in the tray of my console and downloading a much-needed colossal update…

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 18.15.48.png

My sniping phase has really dragged down my stats. I need to boost these back up!

So, that’s what I did a few nights ago. I grabbed Battlefield 1 and Rainbow Six: Siege off my shelf and brushed the dust off of them. Now, what was it to be? Objective-based large scale war or tense, tactical skirmishes? The former got the nod, and I jumped straight back into Battlefield 1; wide-eyed as it loaded through the menus.

Duh-Duh, Da, Duh-Dun-Dun!

(That’s an overexcitable 23-year-old roaring the classic Battlefield theme, if you hadn’t have guessed.)


Right, I don’t know how to say this without sounding like a complete arsehole, but FPS games a kind of my jam. I’m talking Battlefield, Call Of Duty, Doom, Halo, Team Fortress, Destiny, Counter Strike, Titanfall… throw me into anything like that and I’ll usually hold my own pretty well. So strangely, the only FPS game I’ve played this side of the new year has been Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered, and I’ve only really played that for the nostalgia. Not an awful lot of my time has been spent on this either; I haven’t even prestiged yet!

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 12.39.07

In frankly British terms, ‘Du Trotti’ had a mare here!

So this urge to play something competitive came from nowhere. Perhaps I’d seen a Battlefield 1 clip or something whilst scrolling through Twitter, I don’t know. But after so playing more story-driven stuff for so long, perhaps my thumbs just wanted a change. Oh how very subliminal!

Surprisingly, the last time I played on the World War 1 shooter was back in 2016. I played it pretty religiously from it’s release until Christmas and, for the first time in my life, I had two days off work when it came out just to get ahead of the game (I was still in college when Skyrim was first released, so that one doesn’t count). I can easily tell you all though, that I’m certainly not ahead anymore. I’d expected there to be lots of changes considering I’ve been away from it for over 7 months, but everything seemed so familiar bar a few extra guns. Not many I must add, so it was still pretty disappointing. Lots of people complained about the lack of weaponry during it’s early days but I always thought they were throwaway comments and more would be added in at a later date. Sadly that ‘date’ never came, well, not really. It’s pernickety, but comparing the games lack of weaponry to it’s predecessors (if you can call them that) shows how poor the list is. Battlefield 4 had literally hundreds of weapons, all with a multitude of attachments too. As does Battlefield 3 and even Battlefield: Hardline; so I’m pretty bummed to see Battlefield 1 still rolling with only 3 guns per class after all this time. Even more so when you realise how many guns there actually were pre-1918, seriously check this list out on Wikipedia!


bf1-assault-hellfighter-01

Anyway, I spent a good 30 minutes browsing the ‘Soldier’ screen, editing my classes but eventually I gave up. I just didn’t fancy any of the guns, and lost interest in unexplainable circumstances. After all that hype, all that excitement, I literally didn’t care about playing it at that time.

Ha-ha, and if you think that’s an awful ending to this post, I was just as deflated and had the feeling that I’d wasted my time almost as much as you’re thinking now! I went and watched Rick and Morty instead if my memory serves me right.

Maybe I’ll try again tonight, we’ll see.

…man, reading that earlier paragraph back really does make me out to be a pretentious douche.

Leave a Reply

