Weekend Run-Through Ep. 19

Standard

Episode 19 – It’s coming home, it’s coming! Football’s coming home!

Weekend Warm-Up!

After last weekend, it’s been an uphill struggle this week to recover from lost sleep. After the euphoria of last weekend and winning that craved-for cup on Sunday, I’ve certainly felt the repercussions this week.

Despite my seemingly never-ending tiredness, I’ve managed to finish up on Uncharted: Drakes Fortune and I have moved onto the second one, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. If you’re interested in reading my thoughts on the two (soon to be four) games, check out my blog series “Uncharted Is Overrated, And What?”.

Not including last weekend’s Weekend Run-Through, I’ve written 3 blog posts this week. That’s pretty good going! I appreciate that the ‘Quality over Quantity‘ rule applies here, so I’d love for you to check out a few of them if you have a spare moment and drop them into the ‘Quality’ box. Seriously, there’s some fun to be had. I really enjoyed reminiscing over brilliant gaming memories with “Video Game Moments That Will Stick With Gamers Forever” and I’m sure you will too.

Right, plugging my own content aside, lets move on.

Expectation…

I have to admit something now. Over the course of this past fortnight, I’ve been so focused on getting through the Uncharted series, that I’ve neglected friendships both on and offline. My concentration levels has been exceptional whilst wading my way through the downward current of shite that is Uncharted, which is rather impressive… and dedicated! I’ve knuckled down, and no matter how tedious or monotonous I find the games to be, I’m still going to finish them all.

uncharted4PS1

This weekend, I’m hoping to get a few games in with my good ol’ pals. We’re talking, FIFA 17 and Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered by my reckoning. I reluctantly bought the Variant map pack for MWR, it’s a great map pack, but that wasn’t the reason for buying it. I got it because of the simple mechanism that Call Of Duty games thrive off. It’s hard to describe but it’s like a bizarre form of peer-pressure. Out of my group of online mates, my Wolfpack, there are nine of us. All it’s taken is for just one of those players to buy the DLC and this house of cards hit the floor like a ton of bricks. Before long, we had all parted with our hard-earned £12 and were quickly finding our Search and Destroy form on Creek. What a classic! So, I should at least play it a little more to get one’s money’s worth!

There will undoubtedly be a few hours worth of Uncharted bashing too, I need to get this series finished as quickly as possible. Not so that I can finally be done with it, and not so that I can finish my blog series, but because I’ve still got poor Final Fantasy XV waiting. She’s sat on my self after being installed for nearly 2 months now. It’s cruel and I should be ashamed of myself, I know!

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

Friday night arrived, and seeing as ‘mar Lady’ had a social event to attend, that gave me free rein to be as loud and as boisterous as I wanted to be. As such, eight of us booted up FIFA 17 and played Pro Clubs online on the Xbox One. If you’re unaware, and I’ll be surprised if you are, but each player controls one person on the pitch. So out of eleven players, eight of them were real. More often than not, this causes carnage and tonight was no different. Players play out of position and leave huge gaping holes in the defence, some selfishly hold onto the ball trying to take the world on and some players are just downright abysmal…

*raises hand*

That’s me! For whatever reason, things just don’t go my way on Pro Clubs. Whether that’s because my ‘pro’ isn’t very good in the stats department, whether he’s just the wrong build and height, or perhaps I’m just not very good. I’d be tempted to roll with the latter. However, I’m not the worst. So as you can imagine, there’s a lot of anguish and hate thrown around in our party chat. There’s some severe name-calling, some over the top abuse and always ‘banter’ that’s taken too far.

There haven’t been tears yet. There’s still plenty of time though!

Either way, we got relegated from Division 2. Once that happened, we all swiftly departed and went on something else that was a little more uplifting. There’s far too much heartbreak on FIFA for my liking.

Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered is a lot more forgiving anyway, it helps that I’m actually good at that game as well.

Other than all of this on Friday, there wasn’t a awful lot of gaming over the course of the weekend. I managed an additional two hours on Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, which I’ll speak more about in my next “Uncharted is overrated, and what?” post.

Proud as Punch!

I’ve managed to move 2 tons of soil in less than a day with nothing more than a trowel and my bare hands. Ha-ha! No, I’m kidding, I had a shovel and a wheelbarrow, but shovelling all of the that soil has ruined my back. I’d say it’s ruined my posture too, but working in IT for over 6 years and sitting awkwardly on my PlayStation 2 whilst I was a boy certainly took care of that long before this weekend. Seriously though, I should probably have it looked at.

Garden

It looks a million times better already!

If you ignore the patchy black marks where I’ve spilt a little soil on the grass, it’s actually coming along brilliantly! Now that I’ve re-soiled the borders, I can finally paint my bricks. If everything goes to plan, I’ll be all sorted ready for the warmer months. I just need to source myself a decent BBQ now!

I’m still playing through the Uncharted series, so I suppose that’s a good thing. It hasn’t bored me enough to give up. Mind you, I’m not much for giving up anyway.

Weekend Wrap-up

Productivity. That’s a word I seem to be using quite a lot just recently. The downside? Well, it’s usually the case that when I use it, I’m not actually referring to anything gaming-related. I’ve usually been productive housework-wise, or DIY-wise. It’s lame, it’s boring, but it’s true.

Soon, I’ll be all finished around the house and in the garden. I’ll be able to chill out, relax and finally sit in my pants again playing nothing but video games. Summer may just be around the corner, but that’s what blinds and curtains are for, right?

Also, just to update you on the FIFA 17 situation, we’ve bounced straight back up to Division 2 and are carrying a whole load of momentum into the start of next season…

received_10155463224853442

I wasn’t involved with this winning streak in any way, shape or form… which says a lot actually. Clearly, I don’t bring all that much to the team!


Are there any games you play where you refuse to accept how bad you actually are at them? Let me know!

Personally, I can’t think of any.

Leave a Reply

