Weekend Run-Through Ep. 18

Standard

Episode 18 – Championes! Ole! Ole! Ole!

Weekend Warm-Up!

It’s been a torrid time for gaming news this week. Square Enix have given IO Interactive, the studio responsible for the greatly loved Hitman games, the boot. Square initially assumed ownership of IO when it bought Eidos Interactive, IO’s parent company. But in a statement released on Friday, the Japanese publisher says “to maximise player satisfaction as well as market potential going forward”, they have “regrettably decided to withdraw from the business of IO INTERACTIVE”. “As a result of this the Company started discussions with potential new investors and is currently in negotiations to secure this investment”, Square’s statement adds. “Whilst there can be no guarantees that the negotiations will be concluded successfully, they are being explored since this is in the best interests of our shareholders, the studio and the industry as a whole.” It’s unclear what this means exactly for the Danish studio and its staff, who aside from Hitman have also been responsible for Kane & Lynch and the criminally underrated Mini Ninjas, though it certainly suggests that Square is in the process of entertaining offers for the sale of IO. It also doesn’t explain what happens to the Hitman IP once the two companies split, or what the future holds for Hitman‘s new seasonal release model.

Hitman

Is this it for our sharply-dressed cue ball?

So who knows what’s going on? To make things worse, Alan Wake is getting axed too! The cult-classic game will be removed from all physical and digital retail channels as of Monday, May 15 due to expiring music license rights. I’d recommend that you pick it up as soon as you can. It’s going cheap!

So in a week where the gaming industry has had a wee bit of a wobble, I’ve been busy collating my thoughts and feelings over Uncharted this week. If you’re unaware, I firmly believe that as well made as the game series is, it’s incredibly overrated. However, as I’ve not fully experienced them, I’ve barely got a leg to stand on when arguing my point so I’ve taken it upon myself to battle on through the puzzle-platformer in it’s entirety.

This week, I’ve put myself through the ordeal of playing Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune. You know, starting at the beginning makes a lot of sense. Just to reiterate if you haven’t seen my earlier posts, I’m playing them all on PS4 through the Nathan Drake Collection. It’s remastered, so it probably won’t shine a definitive and accurate light on the franchise, but we will see.

To be fair, it’s really smooth running at 60FPS at 1080p and although the graphics don’t set the world alight, they are the least of my concerns. I’m not going to repeat myself, so I’d suggest you take a peek at my earlier posts here.

NolanNorth

Basically, I’m enjoying the storyline, characters and Nolan North’s sass… but that’s about it.

Expectation…

I’ve got a busy weekend planned, with very little time for gaming. I’ll try to get an hour or two in when I can because I really need to crack on a finish Drake’s Fortune before I string myself up to the loft hatch and put myself out of the misery that this game is currently providing; it’s just so boring and repetitive.

I’ve got a load of gardening to do on Saturday, I want to get my garden summer-ready and then finish it of with a beastly BBQ setup. It should look wicked once I’ve finally pulled my finger out and got to work.

Sunday is the big day, I’ve got a football cup final to win! The day could be a write-off, especially if we win. If we lose, well, sorrows need drowning.

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

What a weekend!

Saturday was potentially a grim prospect, hard work. First job in the garden is to re-soil the outer surroundings. We bought 2 tonnes worth of soil to fill in the borders, it doesn’t sound like that much and trust me it really isn’t! It doesn’t go that far once you start emptying the bag.

Once my arms were sufficiently broken. Aching and tired, I treated my lady to a nice meal and a romantic trip to the cinema. We watched Alien: Covenant (Haha, that’s not romantic at all!), which after being so stoked to see, it was bitterly disappointing. It was less Alien: Isolation, more Alien: Colonial Marines in terms of standard and execution. Sorry, Ridley but you’ve let yourself down there.

I managed an hour on Uncharted! Yay! That means I’m one step closer to finishing the damn thing.

As for Sunday?…

Proud as Punch!

…Championes, Championes, Ole! Ole! Ole!

FB_IMG_1494839110852

We won 3-2 after extra time! What a day, what a performance from everyone involved. I love these boys!

Weekend Wrap-up

I really should have booked Monday off work. I’m absolutely shattered (and slightly hungover) after such gruelling weekend. I’d make a joke about Drake’s Fortune being tiring, drab or boring here, but I just haven’t got the energy.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Run-Through Ep. 18

    • Certainly. Not only that but their Hitman GO game on mobile did pretty well too.

      Seems like such a strange decision as I bet IO make quite a bit on money for Square Enix.

      No only that, but they’ve lost a huge brand in Hitman and Agent 47. I know the films were awful, but I bet they still made Square plenty of cash from usage rights, etc.

      Bizarre.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

