Uncharted is overrated, and what?

Standard

NEXT POST

I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again: I’m not a huge fan of the Uncharted series.

However, this brave and unpopular opinion of mine has been formed without properly experiencing the games. I’ve played a little bit of Uncharted 2: Among Thieves and even less of Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception, but that’s about it. At the minute, I’d say I’m relatively impartial on the whole; I’ve never been captivated enough to show much of an interest but I’ve always been convinced that the series is ‘overrated’ and have often labelled it as such.

DrakesFortune

“What did you do, Nathan?” | “I said that Uncharted was overrated!”

So, I thought I’d finally bite the bullet and experience one of the most revered game series of all time. I have gathered up all of my prejudice and I’ve thrown it to one side whilst I work my way through the Nathan Drake Collection with open eyes. Once I’ve finished them all and then Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End too, I feel that I’ll be sufficiently qualified to say whatever the hell I want to about the whole series.

Who knows how long that will take me, but if the Nathan Drake’s story manages to keep me invested then I’ll write up exactly what I think in a super-long, blog post extravaganza! Will I despise the series? Will I begin to see what the fuss is about? Or, will I have been fully converted to the light side of the force?

Well, you’ll have to wait and see…

In between now and then, I’ll reblog this post and add a few thoughts here and there.


This is not an announcement, this is a warning.

13 thoughts on “Uncharted is overrated, and what?

  1. While I am a fan of the series, had I been a slightly different person, the games would’ve been terrible for me. I particularly disliked the shooting gallery sections and waves of enemies from the earlier games. However, even then, the story and characters were and are still good enough to warrant sticking through the annoying parts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I get what you’re saying. I’m not the worlds biggest Uncharted fan. I think the narrative, the characters and the overall themes are very well handled, but the moment to moment game play is incredible tedious. That being said, I think the thing the series do well justify praise. In a medium that’s all to starved for interesting narratives, Uncharted gives us that, and for the most part its great.

    I try to think of Uncharted like a good blockbuster movie. It’s capable of moving me, it looks awesome and after my 90 minutes (or 12 hours) is done, I’ll go away with a smile on my face. That being said, that doesn’t mean it’ll hold up to much scrutiny if we really take an honest look at what the film is.

    Uncharted: Good-old fashioned fun. Is it the best game series ever, probably not, but it’s still really good at what it does. And for most people, that’s what they want from it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a really good summary. I can see that the story and the character-building especially are its main positives and I think it’s through them that the series really hit the heights that it has. I’m around halfway through the first game, but I can already see that the following sequels have so much more to offer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

