Weekend Run-Through Ep. 17

Standard

Episode 17 – Uncharted Territory!

Weekend Warm-Up!

I haven’t done an awful lot of gaming this week. In fact, I’ve probably done more blogging. It’s been a shorter week than usual with it being a bank holiday, so I’ve been majorly busy working and I tend to play sports in an evening. Monday tends to be my go-to gaming night of the week, but as I was lucky to have the day off, I count that as my weekend just gone.

All I’ve really played this week is Elite: Dangerous. Early last week I collected a few of my thoughts and wrote them down in my ‘10-hour Thoughts’ post, and there’s so much more I could have droned on about as the game is literally that huge. I’d say that I’m pretty good at it now. Now that I’ve got a big ship that can really handle it’s own in a skirmish, it’s really opened the game up with new things to do. Before, In my pathetic starter ship the best course of action when threatened was to run away. Similar in the cargo ship I bought, it was tougher but useless in a straight up gun-battle. So finally earning enough cash to buy something that’s pretty good at everything was a great feeling. As such, I’m really enjoying the combat and I like hunting bounties and deserters to assassinate. I’ve had fun fighting off pirates who have pulled my out of hyperspace too.

docking-inside-cobra.jpg

Landing the Cobra Mk III

I’m having fun for now, but it’s the same thing over and over again. I can’t help but think that I’ll soon grow tired of landing at a space station, accepting a mission, jumping to another system, carrying out said mission and then jumping back to the original station to collect my reward. I just feel that the fun will soon dry up. Elite: Dangerous can look stunning, as spinning space stations fill your view with ships flying in and out of dock, but it’s a game that thinks all news, missions and contact with non-player characters is best delivered through the medium of text. While there’s actually a lot going on, the lack of drama and personality means one system, one space station, one outpost soon starts to blur into another. I don’t expect cut-scenes or animated faces all the way through, but Elite: Dangerous could badly do with a bit more character, There’s a whole galaxy here to explore, but will I explore even 1% of it? I’m not sure. Of course I’ve been juggling this game with Horizon Zero Dawn, and the side-missions in that game are repetitive to say the least. In terms of what Aloy must actually do in these side-missions, the game doesn’t offer much variety: go here, use Aloy’s Focus to discover a track, follow it, fight the enemy. That’s more often than not the pattern of most side missions, but that’s fine as the gameplay loop is satisfying and again the stories keep me invested. Elite: Dangerous just doesn’t do this. I couldn’t really care less about the economic boom in a specific system or the civil unrest in another, there’s just no life to it.

But like I say, I’m still playing at the minute so we’ll have to see what happens.

Expectation…

I’ll probably lay off Elite: Dangerous for the next few days. Like I mentioned above, I don’t want my fun to end quite just yet. I’ll look at finishing up on the Horizon Zero Dawn platinum and perhaps start the Uncharted series.

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

First and foremost, Uncharted. I’ve been playing the remastered version of Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune over the course of the weekend; I’ve only ever played bits of the other games, bypassing this one completely. I’ve recently admitted that this game series isn’t one of my favourites, but I thought that I should at least play them all before forming a fully formed opinion. I’m only an hour or so in but so far, my thoughts are incredibly mixed. The original game came out in 2007, right? This Nathan Drake Collection I’ve got came out 8 years later, in 2015 but can you tell? Nope. The graphics aren’t quite the best. Don’t get me wrong, they’re great for a 2007 game, but they’re a long way off 2015 standard. It looks smooth as hell and is happily plodding along at a consistent 60 frames per second, but I feel it’s let down by some of the modelling and textures. At first glance, I didn’t think it had had a graphical overhaul at all, I’ve needed to search the net for comparative pictures, and even side-by-side there’s very little difference.

DrakesFortuneComparison

The combat seems to be dated, despite the deliciously smooth frame rate, the gunplay is neither fluid or that enjoyable. Apparently the aiming system has been drastically improved since the original, so God knows what that would have been like to play but for me, it’s not that much fun. Maybe it’s just how Drake holds his gun…

It’s main strengths and focuses of this game are the story and characters. Voice acting is brilliant, it’s had heaps of praise over the years and rightly so. Nolan North plays Drake so, so well! He’s witty, light-humoured and very believable. Nathan Drake is a protagonist that’s full of charisma with a wonderfully written script. At least I’ve got Nolan North spurring me on, because at the minute, the sooner I get past the first game the better.

Or am I being far too judgemental here?

Otherwise, I didn’t get up to all that much. Friday evening had me glossing my bathroom door, I know… it’s a thrilling life I lead, isn’t it?

Saturday was more of the same, I just pottered about the house tinkering with little jobs here and there. I managed a second coat of gloss and I also managed to trim the trees at the back of the garden. I say ‘trim’, but they’re almost half the height now and look a billion times neater.

Huge thanks to my Dad for being the only one brave enough to climb the ladder.

Proud as Punch!

I haven’t really played all that much on my consoles this weekend, but I did score a wonder goal on Score Hero. If you’re unaware, it’s a simple mobile game where you flick to shoot or pass the ball. It’s far too addictive for my own good, that and Twitter have ruined most of my working productivity. It’s not proper gaming, no… but I don’t care!

“UNBELIEVABLEEEEEEEE!”

…Okay, you can stop judging me now!

Weekend Wrap-up

It’s been a lovely weekend here in the UK, perhaps not so much on Saturday, but at least it stayed dry. Sunday was delightful and not for the first time this weekend, I found myself pulling open those curtains and experiencing the great outdoors. Well, my garden isn’t THAT great, but it’s coming along nicely and it’s a certain sun-trap.


So, how did you fare over the glorious weekend. Are you already on countdown to the next?

4 thoughts on “Weekend Run-Through Ep. 17

  1. Is it bad I sort of like the PS3 version a little better? Hm… I really should break out Uncharted 4 one of these days and see what the excitement around Drake is all about 😉

    Sounds like you had a great weekend! I’m still traveling through Andromeda, and added Horizon: Zero Dawn to the mix, so keeping all the buttons straight is making sure my brain stays sharp! I haven’t gotten to all those side missions yet (I think?) so I guess I can look forward to using the focus a lot…

    Liked by 1 person

      • I love what I’ve played so far! And I’ve taken a bunch of photos, but I literally only discovered the game’s “photo mode” two days ago because I’m apparently an idiot. So yeah, now there are a bunch of “photo mode” pictures too. How about you?

        Maybe I’ll post a gallery at some point! It’s such a gorgeous game!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

