Why Girls Can’t Handle Video Games

Standard

A truly thought-provoking post from girlagainstfeminism.

TPMCDERMOTT talks about some of her personal struggles and offers her opinions on the matter of sexism in video games.

“Anonymity encourages hateful expression (often without cause) and some people are just bad eggs to begin with.”

Sexism exists in the video game industry, that much is clear. My question is, are the developers of games doing what they can to help fight it?

I’d argue ‘yes’, but there’s still more to do. Over the past few months, we’ve seen some critically acclaimed titles released that all feature female protagonists. There’s 2B and A2 from Nier: Automata, you’ve also got Aloy from Horizon Zero Dawn and there’s Emily Kaldwin from Dishonored 2.

It’s not just recently either, one of the most influential games ever created featured a woman at the forefront in Lara Croft. Sure, she was probably overexualised at the time, what with her pointy boobs and short shorts, but in the Tomb Raider series she was strong willed, charismatic and could kick ass pretty easily.

LaraCroft.jpg

The whole stigma surrounding this issue of sexism certainly has a long way to go, but I’d say that the developers are doing their part… or are at least trying to. It’s just the moronic few that continue to wear that stick up their arse.

I honestly cannot believe that there are some people out there who downright refuse to play a game because it casts you as the opposite sex. Seriously, if that’s their actual mindset, then they’ve missed out on some absolute crackers over the years.

One day we’ll get there not just in video game format, but as a society. We’ll finally have equality and there will be no more of a need for posts like this. Hopefully it arrives in time for my great grandchildren to experience it, because lets face it; I can’t see much changing over the course of my lifetime.

Regardless, make sure you check out TPMCDERMOTT’s post. She raises some decent conclusions and delivers a great point of view from a female perspective.

Girl Against Feminism

Thinking back on how I became an anti-feminist, I realise just how much feminism has crawled its way into every aspect of life. The video game community is one that has recently experienced a huge surge of feminist-focused drama. Likely due to having a nerdy father of two daughters, I ended up practically being raised with a game controller in my hand. As such, I was confused when I heard accusations of gaming as being unwelcoming or even hostile to female players. I decided to sit down and analyse the actual impact my gender has had on my gaming experience and consider why feminists might feel this way.

Gaming can be hostile, but not specifically to women.

This is true for many communities all over the internet, not just in the gaming world. Anonymity encourages hateful expression (often without cause) and some people are just bad eggs to begin…

View original post 1,665 more words

6 thoughts on “Why Girls Can’t Handle Video Games

  1. Whilst I’d agree with you in that things are certainly getting better, I wonder if we’ll ever shake this problem entirely. Video games are a microcosm of society as a whole, and until we can fix this larger issue of sexism in life, I don’t see it going away naturally in the video game space.

    We’ll get there eventually, but like most things the change needs to happen in society as whole before it can ever truly hope to take hold in the smaller sphere that is video games.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Read the linked article. It’s an interesting perspective! So… I’m going to re-post my comment here, and I apologize in advance for the wall of text. But I’d love to hear your (and anyone else’s) thoughts! (if you can stomach listening to be babble on for a bunch of paragraphs haha)

    “Interesting perspective! I do think there are a lot of issues in the gaming community, and people of each gender certainly contribute to them, as you mentioned. I do have a few thoughts and questions for you, though.

    The first point of your article that harassment isn’t directed only at women, and you are absolutely correct. However, you mentioned that much of the “harassing” statements made toward women were sexual in nature. Personally, I’d rather have someone insult me for missing a shot (or suck at playing because I’m a woman, even) than them telling me they wanted to see my breasts or were going to rape me. If a person wants to make negative comments about the fact that I wear glasses or that I’m bad at a game, go ahead. I can take it, and dish it right back out. But threatening someone’s safety or treating them like a sex object *is* a bit different. It’s disrespectful to them as a fellow human being, regardless of gender.

    Honestly, most of the women I know who stopped playing online didn’t stop because people were being “mean” to them. They stopped because they were tired of the sexually harassing comments. How many men are asked to send “dick pics”? Are the comments made toward men just as threatening to their physical existence? If so, that needs to stop, too. That’s just common human decency.

    A comment above mentioned that women entering certain male-dominated “spheres” brought about change that “no one cared about” before. Reading through the changes, I’m not sure why that person thinks that those changes were bad. Work safety, getting rid of unfair or arcane laws… these seem like things that had a great benefit for men, too. So women came in and got things done for the betterment of people not like them. I’m not sure I understand… Is that really a bad thing? If it is, why?

    I have to agree that many of the loudest feminists can do more harm than good, sometimes ignoring the women who are still adding to the problem. I am a feminist, but I am a feminist because I believe in what that word is actually *supposed* to mean: *equality* of the genders. That means that both sides have work to do, as you talked about here.

    I’m actually writing a mini-series on representation in video games (I took a break when Mass Effect: Andromeda came out so be warned haha), so I’d love to hear your thoughts if you have a chance to pop over in the coming weeks. I think the only way to ever find a “solution” to this problem is to keep having discussions, especially with the open-minded people on both sides of the issue (which you seem to be!) Again, this is a very well written article. You gave me quite a lot to think about 🙂”

    Liked by 4 people

    • It was light outside when I started reading, but now it’s gone dark!

      Ha-ha!

      These are the conversations we need to be having and it’s certainly not babble that you’re spewing! At the end of the day, we are all here to discuss video games, but in all honesty it’s topics like this that everyone should REALLY discuss. But that’s a sad truth also; people would rather moan that they’re having connectivity problems with their Joy-con controllers than have an opinion on matters such as gender equality and racism. That’s a rediculous statement, I know. It sounded better in my head.

      Obviously as a guy, I can’t speak first hand but I’ve been playing online video games for over 10 years now, and I’ll admit that I’ve never once heard any abuse or hate thrown at any ‘girl-gamers’ that I’ve come across. The most I could recall is a group of players saying “I think that’s a girl playing”, “I’d hate to do worse than she does” and “I bet she’s sh*t! I hope she’s not with us”. It’s harsh, and probably out of order but in my opinion it’s not quite as bad as what I’ve seen elsewhere on the net. But I’ve certainly never witnessed any threats or derogatory comments being said. Maybe it’s just good fortune that I haven’t played with all that many douche bags in my time. I’ve played against a plethora of kids that claim to be my Dad, but other that I guess I’ve been rather lucky. Having said all that, it’s very rare that I venture into game chats nowadays. The only game I’d actually speak to someone on is Rainbow Six: Siege, but even then it depends if I’m in a social mood. Like I’ve said, I can’t really comment on sexist remarks over chat or messages, all I’ve personally experienced on the gaming front is downright stupid tweets and posts on Facebook from people voicing their apparent disgust that they need to play a game as a female protagonist. I know, crazy.

      Of course it’s a social issue, and a worldwide one at that, but I’m sure that it’s a lot worse for you guys and gals across the pond. Not just gender-wise but racism seems to be a major problem for you lot. It’s nowhere near where it needs to be over here, don’t get me wrong, but it seems like it’s far less severe. Hopefully a fellow Brit can back me up here and I’m not just being completely ignorant to what’s actually going on.

      I could drone on for ages, but I don’t think WordPress have the server space to store all of this text!

      Like you’ve said though, the more it’s discussed, the more limelight gets shone in it’s direction.

      And after writing all that, it’s light outside again…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ha! Who knew a comments section could possess the same powers as the Sun’s Song?

        You’re right. And unfortunately my knowledge is based on what others have told me – those stories were enough to keep me from venturing online. I’m not sure I can compare the USA to the UK, but (this is a serious yet unrelated question since we’re having our own problems over here and I’m woefully behind on my foreign politics at the moment) wasn’t Brexit ultimately a racism thing? I mean, maybe it’s not. That was a sidetrack from what we’re talking about.

        At any rate, I wouldn’t be surprised if the “common knowledge” of women being harassed in such a demeaning way is an exception rather than the norm, nor would I be surprised if it was more of a problem in one area or another. There’s enough sewage on the internet and enough nice people battling against the sewage that I don’t think either side really negates the other nor lets people have a clear view of what is actually happening objectively.

        But seriously, though. If comments amount to nothing more than “I think you’re a sh*t shot, you f*cking noob”… I mean, yes, women generally are less openly hostile to each other so that’s sort of how we’d like to be interacted with (and I don’t see anything wrong with expecting civility), but if a woman can’t handle straight up dumb comments that could be made to anyone who just missed a target (or whatever) without having some sort of emotional meltdown that’s another problem entirely!

        Sorry. It’s dark again! haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

