Writer’s block

Standard

Is that right? Can I call myself a writer? I’m just a guy that blogs about his favourite pastime…

Regardless, I’ve been sat on my PC for a while now and very little has happened in terms of content creation. I’ve been writing a couple of posts for the past few days but they just aren’t right. There’s something about them that I’m just not happy about and I can’t find the words to make out exactly what I’m trying to say.

I’ve written, read, re-written and then re-read each post what feels like a million times.

The majority of content is there, it’s just a case of crafting it into a beautiful piece of artwork that you can actually understand. You know, something that flows.

What do you, the lovely guys and gals of WordPress, do in this situation?

The words are all merging into one and I’m struggling to concentrate. Nope, that’s it! I’m out… screw it, I’m going to leave it for now and come back to things later, that’s usually done the trick in the past.

I should probably be cracking on with Horizon Zero Dawn are something anyway. But then again, I’ve got Final Fantasy XV waiting for me too. Then there’s Elite: Dangerous, but what about Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection. Or do I push on with Metro: Last Light Redux? Oh God! I don’t know!!!


Whilst I’m figuring things out, and to keep you busy… can you spot Chewie in the Jawa Market?

If you don’t fancy touching your nose to the screen, open the image and then in its full resolution. Yeah, that might help.

…stop squinting!

3 thoughts on “Writer’s block

  1. Imtiaz Ahmed

    Found him!! But since when were sand people allowed to freely roam markets like this??

    If you have writer’s block, like you said I’d probably just step away and play some games. That’ll probably spark something, since in the end that’s mostly what we are here to talk about.

    I find this is a helpful approach for anything really. I play guitar, and back when I was learning something very challenging and I’d hit a wall, I literally found that stepping away from it for a week or so and coming back to it shows results like I’d been practicing every single day. I think the same can apply here maybe.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Call me Hank Moody because I have a perpetual case of writer’s block. Not that I don’t know what to write about, mind you, but I can never seem to get words on a page. It requires that I hit a perfect sweet spot of caffeine, alertness, and motivation to post.

    For the most part, whenever I think of an idea, I smash some words down into a new post, hit Save, then close it, to return later when I hit the aforementioned sweet spot.

    When I can’t think of an idea to write about, I play some games! Or glance over some headlines on Neogaf and try to spin something into my subconscious that way. Someone’s talking about the best graphics in an NES game.. third reply mentions Super Mario Bros 3, “oh man I miss that game,” new post topic: why Super Mario Bros 3 is my favorite Mario game. It’s like six degrees of Kevin Bacon, but with writing topics.

    Sometimes you just need something to stimulate your brain for a second and then the motivation pours in. At least, it works for me 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

