If you could develop your own game, what kind of game would you make?

Standard

I’ve been blogging now for around 6 or 7 months, and it’s been an absolute blast. One of the biggest things that’s surprised me in that short time is the WordPress community. The guys and girls on there are great and have really helped push me to where I want to be.

Any-who, as WordPress has evolved, at least in my case, into a community of fantastic and like-minded folk, ‘community events’ have become a frequent thing. These are types of posts that promote blogger engagement and help people to get their name spread around. Robert Ian Shepard of Adventure Rules has set up the latest one I’ve stumbled upon, and it’s a doozey! It’s called the ‘Charming & Open’ event, and I’d highly recommend you check Ian’s page out, pronto!

In Layman’s terms, I ask a question, Ian asks a question in return. Here’s how the conversation panned out…


 

(click the images to enlarge if you’re having trouble reading the text)

 


Cheers Ian, that’s literally the toughest question you’ve asked so far! I’ve checked!

Ian’s answered my question, and you can check it out here.

If you could develop your own game, what kind of game would you make?

It’s something I used to discuss with friends way back in highschool on a daily basis. Seriously, we could talk for hours thinking up characters and designing game mechanics (not literally designing through code, we weren’t that obsessed!).

In the end, we settled on a survival-type game. This was around 2008 and I vividly remember sitting in the library one lunchtime at school jotting down ideas, it was hammering it down with rain outside so we were all crammed in this small room. It was like a huge refugee camp except with a worse smell. We drew a map, named locations and put together ideas on an A2 piece of paper. It was huge!… the paper, not the game. Seriously, it was like a duvet cover.

Anyway, there was a day/night cycle. You had the day to collect resources, trade with other survivors and explore the world; whilst at night you had to hide for your life. We weren’t too sure on whether to have zombies, because even at our age we thought it may have been too much of a cliché. Having said that, in the end it’s probably what we would have rolled with just for simplicity.

I know what you’re thinking. No, I had absolutely nothing to do with 7 Days To Die; but that’s a pretty good idea of where we were heading. It would have had a base building mechanic where you could build realistic looking refuges; not simple, uninteresting square houses. There would have been an ability to recruit other survivors and set them to tasks around the area. They could scout distant areas, set up fortifications, prepare meals, treat wounded, keep watch, trade resources with other camps, etc.

StateOfDecay

The most accurate representation I can think of is an FPS version of State Of Decay, where the focus is not so much on the community side of things, but on the base building. When night-time came, the zombies or whatever would attack the camp. If fortifications and barricades weren’t strong enough, zombies could break through and force you to run off into the wilderness if you couldn’t hold out. Thus, losing your base and everything you had stored there.

Hold up, look at me, writing this as if it was an actual concept! Actually, I don’t even think that accurately answers Ian’s question. If I was asked 9 years ago what kind of game would I make, there’s your answer: An FPS Zombie survival game. Since then we’ve had a plethora of games that strangely mirror some of our ideas (some of them a little too closely for my liking!): State Of Decay (as already mentioned), DayZ, 7 Days To Die, and even Minecraft just to name a few!

minecraft-zombies.jpg

 

Goddamnit! I could have been Notch! I could be simply tweeting emojis and picking up thousands of likes. Instead, I’ve got to work damn hard for my retweets!

Right, swiftly moving on.

Nowadays, I’d probably look at developing an immersive RPG or something. Maybe throw in some survival elements too, but I think the key would be a gripping narrative with some great character building. With an unlimited supply of cash, I’d make it the greatest game ever made and make sure every part is perfect. Combat, story, graphics, animations, voice acting, the lot. There wouldn’t be any DLC either, it would all just be pushed out by update free of charge. I’m looking at the likes of The Witcher, Elder Scrolls, and Dragon Age for inspiration here. But is that too commonplace right now? Maybe I’d try a different type of RPG then, perhaps set in the future rather than a magical fantasy world. Oh God! I don’t know!

TheWitcher3

I’m still not sure if i’ve answered that bloody question so I’m going to cover all angles! If I was to actually make a game myself today, right now… honestly, it would most likely be a mobile game purely for the convenience. I don’t need a team of people or a bottomless pit of cash either. I just need a PC and access to YouTube in order to watch the odd tutorial here and there. Sure, it won’t be as big or as loved as a big-budget game but at least its achievable. I’ve actually played around with a couple of software packages and started coding different variables. I’ve designed various sprites and backgrounds, there’s plenty of artwork I’ve made too. It would certainly be a lot more feasible than my survival RPG. If I ever pluck up the courage to pursue the project, keep an eye out for the name “Valkarie”.

Coming to an App Store near you!

…Pssst!… here’s a sneak-peek!

Valkarie

 

3 thoughts on “If you could develop your own game, what kind of game would you make?

  1. This is pretty funny – I got into State of Decay pretty heavy a few years back. In fact, I used to stream my gameplay on Twitch. Logged over 150 hours in that game! If I was a game developer and not a web guy, Breakdown was utter perfection in a game that I would have wanted to create. I love how it got progressively more and more insane and downright terrifying with only 3-4 cars on the ENTIRE MAP. I had always wanted a true zombie survival game, and I think this had a pretty good amount of realism. The people you recruit aren’t superheroes – you can level them up and get some cool moves, but it was never anything game-breaking.

    Oh man you just made me want to play so badly again 🙂 What a fantastic game!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Robert Ian Shepard

    I would have accepted any one of those answers, but you gave me all three – talk about above and beyond! I can definitely get behind having an open world RPG that actually focuses on story and characters rather than just stealing chickens or diving repeatedly into identical dungeons over and over. And free updates rather than paid DLC is something all the fans will thank you for.
    Thanks for participating in the event! My answer to your question is already scheduled, so it’ll pop up first thing tomorrow morning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

