Weekend Run-Through Ep. 12

Standard

Episode 12 – Our UAV is online!

“Just like that, as mysteriously as he arrived, he was gone”…

That’s right, the weekend has been and gone. If you blinked, you may have missed it!


Weekend Warm-Up!

If you’ve been keeping tabs on me this week, you’ll have seen my meltdown over Call Of Duty. I’ve abused the hell out of it and the capitalist ideals it stands for. It’s been a dramatic 3-part miniature series, which disastrously concluded on Friday with my admission that I’d finally been broken and that I had begrudgingly bought Call Of Duty: Infinite Warfare Legacy Edition.

You’ve not missed an awful lot, mainly me bitching and moaning, but check the posts out if you fancy.

So, throughout the week I’ve been busy on Horizon Zero Dawn. It’s a pretty big game and I haven’t got all that many hours to dedicate to it during weekdays. I’m plodding along rather nicely though and I’d hazard a guess that I’m over the halfway mark.

Whilst I’ve been out and about, I’ve had my PS Vita keeping my right butt-cheek warm. That’s pretty much where it lives nowadays, and if it’s not in the back pocket of my jeans, then it’s usually in my hands. Last week, I bought myself the Ratchet and Clank Trilogy in the PSN sale and I haven’t looked back (or up from my Vita). The PS2 classic from 2002 was one of the best games I played on my console, and it’s held a very special place in my heart ever since. The second one in the series was my favourite. Ratchet and Clank 2: Locked and Loaded was so good and it introduced the game mechanic I’ve missed replaying the first one on Vita, strafing. I’ve nearly finished the first game, and after deciding to play them again in order, I can’t wait for the second one!

Expectation…

I do an awful lot of pooping, so I’ll probably finish off Ratchet and Clank this weekend. I hope so anyway, I’m really excited for the space battles that the second game introduced.

Naturally, I’d expect there to be lots of reminiscent Call Of Duty gameplay to be played. It’s the game I practically grew up on, and it certainly had a profound effect on my school grades back in the day, which would help to explain my parent’s resent towards the game series. Honestly, they dislike it more than I do! Regardless, I’ll boot this game up and Call Of Duty: Infinite Warfare too, without any preconceived prejudice.

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

It seems as if I didn’t do as much pooping as I had first envisioned, so I’ve not finished the first Ratchet and Clank game. I managed to reach the final mission though, where I need to beat Ultra Supreme Executive Chairman Drek, but the controls on the PS Vita are I little clunkier than on it’s Playstation 2 counterpart. The sick and shoulder buttons can be a fiddly at times, and the lack of a strafe ability on this game really affects being able to lock onto enemies. I’m having a break, so when I next pick it up I’ll hopefully have some more luck. I’m pleased that I bought the Ratchet and Clank Trilogy, although it’s childish on the most part, it’s still really good fun and plays just how I remember; even if I was 9 years old at the time. It’s a truly classic platform game that will stand the test of time.

RaCDrek

Must… not… fall… off!

 

I played Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered for the majority of the weekend, I have some serious catching up to do to match where my buddies are. They’re all well into the higher reaches of prestige, whilst I’m here in the mud moaning that I don’t have any attachments for my guns. I’ve got no perks, I can’t have claymores yet and I’ve only just unlocked a silencer for the AK-47.

Honestly, the game hasn’t impressed me as much as I had expected. The graphics don’t blow me away, especially comparing them to today’s standard. Out of every Call Of Duty game available on the Xbox One and PS4, I’d say this is the worst in terms of beauty. Even 2013’s Call Of Duty: Ghosts boasts nicer visuals and that game is around 4 years older. Don’t get me wrong, looking back on the original game from 2007, it’s a huge improvement but I thought it would be better. Perhaps it’s just my nostalgia goggles playing tricks on me, but I actually had to google comparisons just to see the differences because to me, it looked exactly how I remembered it. Gameplay is very much the same as it was. It’s much slower paced than the wall jumping gash-piles that we’re so used to, but far more enjoyable.

MWR

That wall hasn’t ages well at all.

Infinite Warfare however, looks fantastic. It’s the biggest pile of turd I’ve ever played, but it’s gorgeous. I just don’t understand it, it’s gone too far and doesn’t posses any of the qualities that I look for in my games. The multiplayer isn’t enjoyable in the slightest, and all those pretty visuals count for nothing when the frame rate dips as often as it has been. Explosions, multi-kills, everything just seemed to grind to a halt and judder around. The guns are absurd, the ‘combat rigs’ are tedious. Oh, and the dabbing is still here. It’s just plain awful.

Then there is the Zombie mode. What ever happened to simplicity? I couldn’t care less about the stuff they’re throwing into the mix nowadays and I really don’t care much for a storyline. I just want to find a corner and hold out for as long as I can with my mates. The only game to do this right was Call Of Duty: World At War. All of the maps were great, but the original Nacht der Untoten was, and still is, the best zombies map in any Call Of Duty game. It was dark, small, simple. Out of every map in every game, me and my friends would choose to play on this one any day of the week. There were no exploding clowns, no flying dragons, no ridiculous storylines. Pure survival at it’s best, plus it had World War II guns, what’s not to like?

Anyway, I’ll crack on with Infinite Warfare’s campaign a some point, but I’ll not be touching the multiplayer with a bargepole. I’ll be keeping well clear of that.

Proud as Punch!

In my first 3 multiplayer games on Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered I called in 4 helicopters. This was great as it really made me believe that I still had the ‘mad skillz’ that were so envied by my peers about 8-9 years ago. I used to play in online tournaments and everything, although I never actually won them but I always came close (hey! It’s the taking part that counts). That seems a long time ago now though as since those first 3 games, I’ve really fallen off the beaten path. My kill/death ratio and score per minute have really taken a hit and it seem’s that I’ve slowed down in my old age. My thumbs just don’t track players as well as they used to. At least I have my happy memories to fall back on from when I was in my prime.

MWR6

pew-pew-pew!

Weekend Wrap-up

So, all that time I spent playing Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare all those years ago were for nothing. I’ve lost all of the golden guns and red tiger camouflage that I worked so hard to get. With more than 870 hours played, that’s over 36 days of my life, wasted. When I finally take over the world, I’ll force Activision and/or Infinity Ward to merge the two games together, and maybe add in a ‘before and after’ button, similar to what they did with Halo: The Master Chief Collection. At least that way I won’t need to browse the internet to see the differences.

Modern-Warfare-Gold-AK-47

The ‘Lady-Killer’.

Once I achieve world domination, I’ll follow suit with Drek and declare myself Ultra Supreme Executive Chairman of Earth. My first acts would of course be to criminalise micro transactions in video games, price-cap downloadable content, abolish pre-order bonuses and discourage developers from releasing unfinished content.

Would you vote for me? Actually, it wont be a democracy. It’ll be a dictatorship, so you can shove your voting systems. We’ve all seen what happens when things are left to the general public: Trump gets in and the UK get out.

I’ll stick to gaming, at least I understand people here.


So, how did you fare over the glorious weekend. Are you already on countdown to the next?

Leave a Reply

