Fall Of Duty: Morals At War

Standard

F*ck.

 

MWR

First things first, this recent bunch of sporadic posts have somehow matured into a 3-part drama. Check out the previous posts to get up to speed, yo!

#1 – Fall Of Duty: Capitalist Warfare

#2 – Fall Of Duty: Money Back Ops II

This week has been a real rollercoaster. I’ve been in, I’ve been out and I’ve certainly shaken it all about. Finally, I crumbled and bought Call Of Duty: Infinite Warfare Legacy Edition… again. Although this time I couldn’t cancel my order

My weak and feeble mind is easily manipulated. My best friend’s are acutely aware of this; they know exactly how to push my buttons and rub me up the wrong way. They’ve all got this godforsaken game, and have recently started playing it more and more. They’ve been teasing me for a few weeks now; constantly challenging me and pushing me towards getting the game that a few years ago I would have snatched off the shelves. In the end, the game was dangled in front of my face and I just couldn’t resist, despite my best efforts.

I found it online for £20, which although is an absolute steal, I’m still not happy about it. I got it off of a lovely fella on Gumtree. No seriously, this guy was actually normal unlike the typical riffraff I’m used to dealing with on there. I found the game by complete chance really, I tend to avoid Gumtree like the plague, it’s full of scoundrels and downright morons. A couple of weeks ago, I sold a shiny new DualShock 4 controller I got with my PS4. It was unopened, in box and I had people messaging me to offer £10-20 for it. I had one guy say he’d do me a favour and pick it up if I dropped the price to £8. Cheers matey, big help! Lo and behold, I cancelled my listing and sold it to a mate I play football with for £40. I couldn’t hack being bombarded by scumbags telling me that they can find it cheaper online, well go buy that one then and stop pestering me you dense trollop!

Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered 4

Anyway, Call Of Duty. I haven’t played it yet, but that’s largely due to the issue surrounding video games nowadays. You can no longer shove a disk into your console and hit ‘go!’, you’ve got to install it while you eagerly bounce around the room waiting to sink your teeth into it. After installing the 40GB game, I then had to install it’s 71GB update. I had things to do last night anyway so I wasn’t all that fussed. There’s absolutely no doubt that I’ll have a couple of goes tonight, but in all honesty I’m not that bothered by it. I’m not excited or looking forward to playing it in the slightest, and it’s a strange feeling that I’ve never really experienced when I’ve bought a new game.

Maybe it’s because Modern Warfare Remastered is just a remake of a game I’ve already plowed 34 days worth of my time into, back when I was a wee whippersnapper.

Maybe it’s because I’ve fallen out of love with everything Call Of Duty now stands for.

Maybe I’m just not looking forward to the supply drop/black market bullshit that Activision are now so fond of

Or maybe, just maybe, I’m not that big of a fan of micro transactions which are over promoted in the recent Call Of Duty titles. Seriously, I’d rather gouge my eyes out with an old, dusty shoehorn that’s been pissed on by a pregnant cat than pump money into this pile of garbage.

It really is strange. I’ve got so many awesome memories of 2007’s Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, surely I should look forward to re-living them? From the fantastic map design, to the guns and perfectly paced gameplay. I just hope it’s still the same. I worked so hard to achieve red tiger camouflage on all the guns, and I loved my golden AK-47.

Modern-Warfare-Gold-AK-47

*Drools uncontrollably*

I got congratulated a few days ago for sticking to my morals and helping to fight against what the games industry is quickly becoming; all I can say in response is that I’m weak. Oh so very weak.

So after ordering it, cancelling the order, adding it to my basket again, removing it and then buying it off a local guy I finally have the game I loathe so much. Having said that, I’m just thrilled to be able to join in with my friends again.

That’s it from me, I’ve had it up to here *throws hand violently in the air* with writing about this game and it’s devilish developer. I shouldn’t be giving them the time of day, never mind writing three blog posts about them.

All I can really end with here is an apology. I vowed not to get this game, and I swore to never give a penny more to the franchise (although buying second-hand has bypassed that rather nicely). Not only have I let all of you guys down, I’ve let myself down. I can already see my family’s disgust in their eyes.

Shame

2 thoughts on “Fall Of Duty: Morals At War

Leave a Reply

