Weekend Run-Through Ep. 11

Standard

Episode 11 – That sounds… ominous!


“Just like that, as mysteriously as he arrived, he was gone”…

That’s right, the weekend has been and gone. If you blinked, you may have missed it!

In these series of posts, I’ll be documenting all the little goings on that happen to me over those precious couple of days. Religious folk believe they’re rest days, Sunday in particular, but I think we all know that they were really designed for sitting in our pants, playing video games.


Weekend Warm-Up!

My week has pretty much continued from where my weekend left off. I’ve continued my play through on Horizon Zero Dawn without anything else in between. Well, not really. I’ve played some Gravity Rush on my PS Vita here and there, but nothing for long periods.

This week has seen the release of Mass Effect: Andromeda, and I’ve been bitterly disappointed with some of the reviews. It looks like it’s got poor voice acting, shoddy animations and a drab storyline. Thankfully the combat has been praised, but whether that’s enough to warrant it’s purchase, I’m not sure. I’ll no doubt be putting my hand in my pockets to buy this at some point, but it might not be as soon as I had originally intended.

My collection of Playstation 4 games is growing. I’ve added Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection to my… er… collection. It, or rather they, join a library that already consists of Horizon Zero Dawn, Final Fantasy XV and Tearaway Unfolded. It’s small, but we all start somewhere.

Of course, Tearaway Unfolded has been one of the free games available to PS+ users over the month of March. Honestly though, what a poor offering?! I’ve only had my PS4 for a fortnight now, with March’s free games the first i’ve been able to experience, but looking back at past months It looks pretty bleak. Microsoft certainly have Sony beat here; since Christmas Xbox owners have been able to download the likes of Borderlands 2, Evolve, Killer Instinct Season 2, Rayman Origins, Layers Of Fear, Monkey Island 2: SE and Star Wars: The Force Unleashed. What have Sony had in reply? Little Big Planet 3. It’s decent, but I don’t feel that it’s enough.

Having said that, I’ve heard rumours about The Order 1886 being included in April’s free games on PS+ which is more like it. On the other hand, Xbox have announced that their free games lineup will consist of Darksiders, Ryse: Son Of Rome, Assassins Creed: Revelations and The Walking Dead Season Two.

Make of that what you will…

Expectation…

Sadly, I’ve got a chock-a-blocked weekend. I’m out all day on Saturday shopping for cars and a close friend of mine is having his baby girl christened on Sunday. I’ll have to go suited and booted for that one so there’ll be no lounging around in my pants this weekend.

Of course, like any addict I can make time for my passion and squeeze in a game or two.

Hopefully.

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

Friday evening presented a great opportunity to get some hours in. My girlfriend had, as she calls it, “shit” TV to watch (and she’s not wrong; it is shit, it’s so mind-numbingly awful). There was no chance in hell that I would endeavour to watch that trash, so I made haste to the little cesspit I call the man-cave. Once she’d finished her gruelling stint, she popped her head around the door and seductively asked if I was coming to bed. I told her i was just finishing up and will be 10 minutes. You know, the old “I need to find a save point” excuse? Well, that was at around 11:00pm…

About 4 and a half hours later, I snuck into bed. I mean ‘snuck’ as well, I felt like Sam Fisher creeping around the house. I was that stealthy I even sat down to wee just so that the splashing noises couldn’t wake the beast that slumbered in the bedroom.

I managed to slide under the covers unnoticed, and swiftly dropped off asleep.

Oops!

Stealth

Shhhh! She’ll hear you!

The game that has the potential to ruin my relationship? Horizon Zero Dawn, obviously. I’ve been pressing on with the story a little more now, and it’s doing a great job of keeping me intrigued. It’s one of those where you have a good idea of where it’s going, and why the world ended all those years ago but I’m still desperate to understand young Aloy’s part in all of this.

Saturday, as I mentioned, was pretty much write-off. I had to drive to Derby in order to look at a new car with my girlfriend. She’s had enough of her god-awful Skoda and want something a little more exciting. She went with a new shape Mini in the end, but I digress…

It’s not too far to Derby, but I was weary of traffic. So I packed my PS Vita just in case. I’m not sure if you’ve seen, but there’s a huge PSN flash sale going on at the moment and my wallet was not prepared in any shape or form. There are some decent deals, but nothing too far out of the ordinary. What’s caught my eye the most though is the “Only On Playstation” feature they’ve got going on. Lying in bed Saturday morning had me browsing the store on my PS Vita. I crumbled and bought the Ratchet and Clank Trilogy for a measly £6.99. I loved the originals on my PS2 back in the day, and the mouth-watering thought of playing them again AND on the go was all too tempting. There are actually a few bundles on there that have peaked my interest too, specifically the nostalgia nourishing Jak and Daxter Trilogy and the Sly Trilogy. There’s a recurring theme here, isn’t there? Anyway, we didn’t get stuck in traffic, but I’ve spent almost every minute I’ve had spare playing this awesome little platformer.

Ratchet and Clank PSVita

Must… collect… bolts…

I had to leave my PS Vita behind later in the evening though; family get together’s and all that. You know the sort: lots of chatting, lots of drinking, lots of arguing, lots of shouting, lots of awkward photos and very little sleeping.

Sunday morning promptly arrived and the afternoon was pretty hot on it’s tail. Sunday was of course, Mother’s Day, so again, no chances for gaming here… apart from the odd play through of Ratchet and Clank of course.

Proud as Punch!

I’ve been shooting myself in the foot for a while now on Horizon Zero Dawn. I’ve outright refused to purchase any additional weapons as I’ve been saving up for the better, rarer ones. You need to trade in uncommon items alongside all of your hard-earned bottlecap substitutes. I’ve done around 30% of the game now with just the Shadow Hunter Bow, the bog-standard Tripcaster and Aloy’s spear. The decent weapons cost a lot more than just shards (the in-game currency if you’re unfamiliar). Now though, I’ve managed to expand my arsenal rather considerably. I’ve bought the Shadow Sling and the Shadow Tripcaster. The Shadow Sling was the toughest to fund, as you needed a material called ‘Crystal Braiding’. It’s a relatively rare drop that you only receive from the larger machines and playing on very hard makes this challenge all the more tedious. I’m used to avoiding the larger enemies and sneaking by unnoticed because confronting them usually means death, even if I’m fleeing.

In my desperation to obtain this Crystal Braiding, I started guardedly hunting the larger creatures. The hardest of which was against two Behemoths simultaneously. They take a ridiculous amount of damage, and dodging their attacks took some getting used to, but I managed to overcome both of them after a good 20 minutes of fighting. When looting the corpses, I was confident of receiving my trophy but instead all I found was heartbreak. Of course, neither beast had dropped the one thing that I needed. So I pressed on with my story mission, rather unhappy with myself.

Behemoths

Easy now…

Thankfully, the following story mission had me fighting something called a Deathbringer (sounds ominous, doesn’t it?). This dropped the braiding I so desperately craved and I bought myself the Sling not to long after.

Weekend Wrap-up

So my consoles have chomped their way through dust this weekend without being touched. It’s a shame, but it was the way it had to be. I suppose I should give them some time off every now and then.

As it’s payday today, I need to make a decision on what to buy during the PSN sale. Actually, perhaps you can help…

And with that, I’ll leave you with a previously unreleased screenshot from the cancelled psychological horror, Silent Hills.

fb_img_1490563024605.jpg


So, how did you fare over the glorious weekend. Are you already on countdown to the next?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Run-Through Ep. 11

  1. > Just like that, as mysteriously as he arrived, he was gone
    Office reference?

    Tearaway was fantastic on the Vita and I believe Unfolded is just the expanded version on PS4. It was a really fun game, and the trophies were super fun to collect! Don’t write it off just yet! 🙂

    Good call on the Ratchet trilogy. I have that on Vita as well and I’ve only beaten the first one so far. I would personally pass on the Jak one unless you _really_ want to play it, it’s just too laggy and annoying to enjoy. Just my personal opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s all up in the air at the moment, there’s no way I can afford everything so I’ll have to whittle my wish list down.

      I’ll be giving Unfolded a go too, i just need to find the time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

