Weekend Run-Through Ep. 09

Standard

Episode 09 – The Honeymoon Period!


“Just like that, as mysteriously as he arrived, he was gone”…

That’s right, the weekend has been and gone. If you blinked, you may have missed it!

In these series of posts, I’ll be documenting all the little goings on that happen to me over those precious couple of days. Religious folk believe they’re rest days, Sunday in particular, but I think we all know that they were really designed for sitting in our pants, playing video games.


Weekend Warm-Up!

I’m weak. Oh, so very weak.

I’ve got this terrible impulse of buying things that I really don’t need. This one time, I bought a pair of Beats Studio 2.0 wireless headphones for just under £300. How many times have I used them? Around 10 times give or take, I’ve only had them for about 18 months… yeah, I should probably look to sell them an recuperate some of my spending.

So what have I bought this week? My latest impulse-purchase comes after the release of Horizon Zero Dawn. Yep, you’ve guessed it! I’ve bought a Playstation 4. Horizon Zero Dawn was the final straw as far as exclusives were concerned. I’m fed up of getting nothing but trash for the Xbox One whilst PS4 owners enjoy the good times.

It was a pretty sweet deal though. Let’s see what you think…

  • PS4 Slim 500 GB
  • Horizon Zero Dawn Collector’s Edition
  • An additional Dualshock 4 controller
  • 3 months PSN membership
  • 2 months Now TV membership

All brand new and from a respectable retailer. What are we guessing? £280? £300? £350?

Nope.

£229.

Two-hundred and twenty-nine Great British pounds.

What an absolute steal.

TakeMyMoney

Expectation…

I think this is obvious. I’m going to hunt some robotic dinosaurs! I can’t wait!

I’m not moving from my sofa for anything, I’m just going to absorb this game for everything it’s worth.

First though, I’ve got to get the thing plugged in.

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

Ohhhhhhh mmyyyyyyyyy Gooooddddddddddd!

Horizon Zero Dawn is incredible! It’s quite possibly the most visually stunning game I’ve ever played. It’s so consistently picturesque that you might not appreciate it to it’s fullest. When running around completing missions it can be easy to forget that Horizon Zero Dawn offers beauty in every landscape. Every so often, I find myself just stopping for a minute so that I can just take it all in.

Is every PS4 exclusive this good?

I felt sorry for my Xbox One this weekend, the introduction of my new Playstation 4 would inevitably start a rivalry. A tense, violent rivalry at that. So on Saturday morning, I sat down with my 3-and-a-half year old console and we had a long, meaningful chat. I explained that there was a new addition to the family now and that my time and attention needed to be shared amongst to two of them.

Whether all of that fell onto deaf ears, I’m not sure but I spent the morning with my Xbox in order to reassure him that everything is ok. Things might be different now, but he’s still loved just as much. We enjoyed running over zombies and frying them with the mounted flamethrower I have on my buggy in Dying Light.

Proud as Punch!

It’s done! It’s finally over! Dying Light and Dying Light The Following expansion are both completed. Now, as disappointed as I was with the ending of the main game, the expansion was quite the opposite. The sheer shock-factor had me wincing in my chair, mouth wide open and totally bewildered. The climax… well, the climax was quite something. It’s certainly redeemed itself for the lackluster ending the main game had.

I’m not going to tell you which decision I made though.

Weekend Wrap-up

So the majority of my weekend went as expected, really. I spent my hours shooting arrows into people’s heads. Not just in Horizon Zero Dawn, but in Dying Light too. These robots are a lot tougher to kill than the infected though, so are the human enemies too.

So far, so good. I’m chuffed with my new purchase. I’ll be earning a little cash off of it too, I need to get rid of my second Dualshock controller. I’m just not going to use it and have absolutely no intentions of playing anything split screen on it, that’s what my Xbox is for. I could literally sell this spare controller for an easy £40; on top of this, I could sell the game for an additional £50. That’s nearly half of what I paid for the bundle itself. It was just too good of a deal to pass up.


So, how did you fare over the glorious weekend? Are you already on countdown to the next?

8 thoughts on “Weekend Run-Through Ep. 09

  1. I admit it: I impulse bought Horizon Zero Dawn on the weekend too. I’m only a couple of hours in so far (and have already got beaten up by a couple of robots) but it’s so good already!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never finished Dying Light but may have to jump back into it at some point. I remember loving the parkour aspect although the night time portions scared the living crap out of me, ever for someone who likes horror :O

    What is this Horizon Zero Dawn game I keep hearing of!? Is it like Zelda!? Lol just kidding of course – I feel I will inevitably be an owner of a PS4 and then finally play all of these cool exclusives I keep hearing about – judging from the Let’s Plays on youtube it looks pretty sweet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

