Weekend Run-Through Ep. 08

Standard

Episode 08 – Finish Him!


“Just like that, as mysteriously as he arrived, he was gone”…

That’s right, the weekend has been and gone. If you blinked, you may have missed it!

In these series of posts, I’ll be documenting all the little goings on that happen to me over those precious couple of days. Religious folk believe they’re rest days, Sunday in particular, but I think we all know that they were really designed for sitting in our pants, playing video games.


Weekend Warm-Up!

The Switch is here! Not literally here, I don’t have one but it’s in stores across the globe. As much as I would have loved to have sat in my knickers playing The Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild all weekend, I’m afraid that gleeful experience will have to wait.

In the week running up to now, I’ve been trudging along on my PS Vita. It’s life has been revitalised and rightfully so. It’s back to being my companion, much to my phone battery’s relief I might add. Since I picked up a memory card, I’ve been able to grab a hold of some new (and old) games without the need to uninstall anything or trade things in. I’ve got plenty of space to spare too so if you recommend anything, let me know!

Shock! I’ve barely played on my console or PC. I managed to squeeze a couple of sessions in, but nothing of any length or substance. I had the entire week off work, and what have I spent my time doing? Sanding, filling, painting, glossing and drilling (not in the sexual way, you pervert!). Yep, I’ve been decorating my house. Well, my hallway to be exact. It’s not even that big, but it felt like an eternity to finish. I was looking forward to the weekend just as much this week as I do on a normal working week!

Expectation…

I’ve been enjoying Mortal Kombat on the plucky little handheld. Well, I say ‘enjoying’, I suck at it. I’m a button-basher through and through; there’s absolutely no strategy to my fighting style and it seriously shows. If i’m being honest, when it comes to fighting games I’ve always opted for the likes of Street Fighter or Tekken. Again, I tempestuously mashed buttons like there were no tomorrow without any tactical thought, but those titles always felt a little easier. Not that I’ve ever been that good at them, mind you. Why I decided to pick up a copy of Mortal Kombat instead of one of these I don’t know, but I’m glad that I did. I’m getting better at it and I’m beginning to memorise the best combo’s. This violent piece of heaven is great for quick pick-up-and-play sessions in between monotonous day-to-day tasks, so there’s little doubt that I’ll end up playing a lot of this over the course of the weekend.

Due to the additional space a much larger memory card brings, I’ve been able to reinstall older games onto my PS Vita. So when I’m not popping testicles or breaking bones on Mortal Kombat, I’ve been soaring over Hekseville in Gravity Rush or jumping around on Little Big Planet to the calming sound of Stephen Fry’s tender chords. Actually, how the hell did he not make it onto my Top-10 Video Game Performances list? I’ve dropped a right clanger there; not even an honourable mention, sorry Stephen! Anyway, these games will keep me occupied for a while, even if I have played them before. I like my reminiscent adventures if you hadn’t already gathered.

I’ve always been a fan of the Dragon Ball anime and this weekend see’s Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 as part of Xbox Live’s Free Play Days. Pretty self-explanatory really, for this weekend the whole game is free to download from the store. I missed out on the Ghost Recon: Wildlands open beta last weekend, so i’ll be damned if I miss another opportunity to try something out without any strings attached.

Battlefield 1 is also free to try this weekend, so seeing as my worn-out shooter skills could do with a little bit of tender loving care, this is a great opportunity to jump on board the noob harvest.

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

First things first, Battlefield 1 is too easy. I hadn’t played it since Christmas but when I jumped back in on Saturday morning, it felt like I’d never stopped playing the World War 1 shooter. I wouldn’t say there were any more players this weekend than usual, and not all that many new-starters, because of that there was no excuse for the sheer scale of incompetent, moronic idiots running around on there. I had people sprinting straight past me left, right and centre; I don’t know whether they’re blind or mentally challenged, but it really was laughable at times. Not just enemies, but my own team seemed to run over the bodies of prone opponents. Despite all of this luck greatly benefitting my Kill/Death ratio and Score Per Minute stats, I got bored rather hastily.

Once I grow tired of a particular game, I tend to mess around within the menus. I can literally spend hours tinkering with my loadouts and reading up on stats, too bored to start a new multiplayer match, but too bone-idle to swap the game out for something else. Just as I was doing this though, my notification pinged.

“Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 is ready to start”

Here I had the motivation I needed to crack on, precisely at the moment I needed it the most. So I booted it up. Wide-eyed and now sat up right I hammered my way through any menus to the character creation screen. Of course, this was a free trail that finished on Monday. Why I then proceeded to spend around 40 minutes creating my character God only knows. I was like an overexcitable child in a sweet shop, I didn’t know where to look, what race to choose and what features/clothing to pick. Your typical RPG dilemma, I suppose.

Eventually, I got into the main slog of the game and thoroughly enjoyed my short time on it. The music is unbearable and the story is naff, but the gameplay? The fighting is brilliant. I don’t know why, but I always assumed it to be similar to the likes of Mortal Kombat and Tekken, but with added dimensions. It isn’t, it’s so much more and it compliments the game perfectly. Whether I pick the full copy up, I’m not too sure. If I see it on sale somewhere I think I’ll pick it up for cheap.

Dragon-Ball-Xenoverse-02

Proud as Punch!

Dragon Ball was great, not just because it was fun but because it was so easy to grasp. I suck at fighting games, always will but I found this game to be pretty easy. The combo’s were straight forward and looked great and the special moves were a beautifully reminiscent nod to the anime series. Despite my short play time, I managed to beat the likes of Goku, Gohan, Vegeta, Raditz, Krillin and Piccolo with gratifying ease.

From this, stemmed a newfound confidence. Picking up my PS Vita and loading up Mortal Kombat was inevitable after my Dragon Ball Xenoverse 2 experiences, and almost immediately, I got my very first ‘Flawless Victory’ accolade. Playing as Kratos (yeah, he’s so cool), I absolutely decimated Sub-Zero. I dodged all of his bullshit freezing attacks and beat him without taking a hit. Not bad for a button-bashing noob!… I’m getting there, though!

Weekend Wrap-up

Firstly, I’m gutted that I didn’t have chance to play much in the week. The weekend wasn’t all that productive either as I spent the majority of my time on a game I don’t even own. I’ll certainly be keeping an eye out for it though, if I can get it for a low price then I’ll have done well. I always hope that something goes wrong on Xbox Live too in regards to these free play days. Fingers crossed that it’s still playable and I’ve ended up getting the full game for free, in not holding my breath, though!

I pretty much kept to myself on Sunday, locking myself away and burnt layers off of my eyeballs. I played a fair bit on my Vita, probably due to it’s ease of access and being able to pick up exactly where I left off. I don’t think I actually left the safety of my bed until way after lunchtime.


So, how did you fare over the glorious weekend. Are you already on countdown to the next?

Leave a Reply

