Weekend Run-Through Ep. 06

Standard

Episode 06 – Step Into The Light


“Just like that, as mysteriously as he arrived, he was gone”…

That’s right, the weekend has been and gone. If you blinked, you may have missed it!

In these series of posts, I’ll be documenting all the little goings on that happen to me over those precious couple of days. Religious folk believe they’re rest days, Sunday in particular, but I think we all know that they were really designed for sitting in our pants, playing video games.


Weekend Warm-Up!

I’m not going to lie, I’m starting to get pretty tired of telling you that I’m still playing Dying Light. I’m really enjoying it, and its a brilliantly fun game but I can’t keep boring you to death with it.

Of course, last week I finished the story. The main story that is, now I’m off on my countryside retreat and dabbing my toes into The Following expansion for the game. Other than thrashing my buggy around the fields of Harran’s countryside, I haven’t really got up to much during my weekday evenings. I haven’t really gotten up to all that much gaming-wise, actually.

Expectation…

Despite playing very little of Dying Light’s The Following, I cannot envisage that it will take anywhere near as long to finish as the base game did; it’s an expansion after all and not a fully fledged game. I’ve only played a few missions, and I’m already 40% of the way through the story so I’m hoping to finish this off this weekend and finally put an end to writing about it.

Maybe I’ll move on to something else afterwards. Who knows, I like to try and plan things, but my plans always end up falling over.

weekendfastforward

…Reality.

I did it. I’ve made the reluctant leap! I’ve bitten every bullet in the chamber and ordered myself a memory card for my PS Vita. I’ve treated myself Mortal Kombat for the console too so I’m looking forward for them arriving at some point next week. Commutes to work will feel considerably shorter now, as will boring social outings – Go me!

Anyway, as expected, I spent most of my time on Dying Light. Well, whatever time I managed to have free. I’ve had a steady list of jobs building and this weekend seemed like decent time to try to get things done. I won’t bore you with any details, but it was a pretty productive weekend in that respect. Downside being that I had to put completing The Following on hold for a little while.

The Harran countryside is forever flourishing into a Far Cry paradise with each mission of The Following expansion. So much so that I’m struggling to differentiate between the two, I’ve even got a crossbow now! Despite the obvious fact that Dying Light is a zombie-survival game, the features in each are so, so similar. The climbing, the stealth, the vehicles, the graphics, the skill-trees, the bow, the crossbow, the medi-packs/healing animations… the list grows on. As I’ve said before, it’s not necessarily a bad thing, i just can’t believe that Ubisoft haven’t filed any lawsuits. Dying Light has been hugely successful, surely a piece of that pie looked tempting to them?

dying-light-following-shot-5

Business bollocks aside, Sunday was a typical lazy Sunday. A funny sort of day, where the day drags on but you can’t really be bothered to do anything. I’d even had enough of playing games, I know… weird. What little gaming I did wasn’t even that productive either, it literally mirrored my real life feelings in the case that I just messed around. I drove around Harran’s countryside aimlessly running zombies (and few people) over, I leaped around at night annoying Volatile’s with UV lights and I picked flowers/herbs with no real purpose. To be fair, I’ve nearly finished the expansion’s storyline, so maybe this was just some subliminal procrastination.

Finally, on Sunday evening I managed to do something rather unexpected. I played for a full hour with my girlfriend on the Xbox. My girlfriend isn’t a gamer, and as much as it pains me, she has absolutely no interest in my hobby. In all fairness, she probably resents the industry in some way or another but the thing is, I couldn’t blame her. Either way, the only games she’s ever played are Wii Sports games (which aren’t really games, let’s be honest) and Mario Kart. That’s pretty much it. When she was younger, she used to drive around on her Dad’s Grand Theft Auto: Vice City at the speed limits and stopped at the traffic lights, which in essence is the very opposite to what GTA is all about.

I’ve resided to the fact that I’ll never win her over, she’ll always be this way and there’s absolutely no problem with this, everyone is entitled to their own beliefs and preferences. But… the Nintendo Switch is due to be released in little over two weeks, could that interest her in a similar way to the Wii? Of course 1-2-Switch appeals to her in the way that gimmicky games do. Mario Kart 8 Deluxe will no doubt widen her eyes too, but to try and warm her into the idea that playing with me on the Switch can be a viable pastime, I needed to educate her.

So, we had a bit of a snuggle under a duvet and shoved in Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga. A classic, designed for little children, she can’t go wrong here. It has everything a simple, pickup and play title needs: it has personality, puzzles, cooperative modes, replay value, low violence, a lack of frustrating difficulty, and most importantly, it has Darth Vader. And that’s what makes it enjoyable even for adults, because let’s face it; Darth Vader makes everything better. It’s a fact.

lswtcs

She enjoyed it but whether she will play again or anything a little more interesting, I’m not too sure.

Proud as Punch!

Convincing my partner in crime to partake in some cooperative gaming (no matter how simple) is an achievement in itself. Repeating the feat would be another achievement in itself.

I suppose I ran quite a few Bolter’s over in Dying Light, and they’re quick. Is that anything to be proud of? Nah, not really. Lets go with the other one.

Weekend Wrap-up

A busy day on Saturday and an easy day on Sunday, so easy that I couldn’t be arsed to move much. I mainly sat on my sofa watching old-school movies and the FA cup fifth round. It’s a shame that my weekends keep getting busier and busier just lately. Those rare occasions where I can sit gleefully in my underwear in the dark, I really relish them. If I’m being honest, these weekly run-through posts are getting pretty time-consuming. I’m keeping my focus for now, and hope to carry them on. I’ve got a whole week off work coming up soon, so i’m sure plenty of game time will be piled in then.

randygaming

But unfortunately, as far as Dying Light‘s concerned, I’ve still get a fair way to go. I’m still heading towards the light, but the end is certainly very near.

One final note: I’m looking forward to finally getting back into my PS Vita gaming, if you have any recommended games please let me know and I’ll check them out. I keep looking at Dragon Quest: Builders, it looks pretty fun but being the cheap-skate that I am, I’d rather not pay £40 for it. I’ll wait for that to come down a little – if it comes down, that is.


So, how did you fare over the glorious weekend. Are you already on countdown to the next?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Run-Through Ep. 06

  1. >My girlfriend isn’t a gamer, and as much as it pains me, she has absolutely no interest in my hobby

    Oh man, this speaks leagues to me lol. My fiancee is just not into video games in the slightest, despite the fact that I am pretty good at judging her taste and think I can find something to interest anyone, gamer or not.

    As people who love video games arguably more than any other entertainment medium, it’s hard to envision anyone not feeling that incredible feeling, but some people get that clumsy feeling, like they can’t seem to get a grip around controlling a character. It can be frustrating – getting one of these types of people to play a game for an hour is a big achievement!

    Side note, my girl’s also really looking forward to playing the Switch with me, 1-2-Switch and Snipperclips and a bottle of wine looks like a good Friday night to me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I did alright. A little Mass Effect recording, a little Black Flag, a little longing look at Inquisition because I want to play it again SO BADLY….

    But you definitely had a productive gaming weekend! And I totally understand the significant other not being as enthusiastic about games – at least she plays a bit!!

    And I’m absolutely counting down to my next weekend…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

