Weekend Run-Through Ep. 05

Standard

Episode 05: Someone Call Social Services!


Just like that, as mysteriously as he arrived, he was gone”…

That’s right, the weekend has been and gone. If you blinked, you may have missed it!

In these series of posts, I’ll be documenting all the little goings on that happen to me over those precious couple of days. Religious folk believe they’re rest days, Sunday in particular, but I think we all know that they were really designed for sitting in our pants, playing video games.


Weekend Warm-Up!

I mentioned last week about my forgetful nature and not playing Metro: Last Light. Well… I still havent. What can I say? I have the commitment levels of an avocado. Having said that, I’ve managed 5 straight weeks of writing these run-throughs so my commitment issues can’t be that bad.

This week, I’ve continued with the ever long Dying Light and I’ve had a really good, yet terrifying, time. I’ve finally unlocked the grapple hook, so I’m literally the zombie-slaying Spiderman of Harran now. In a way, it may have ruined the game a tad.

Now, I can very easily escape any situation:

  • Overrun by zombies? Grapple hook.
  • Being chased by several Viral’s? Grapple hook.
  • Pursued by a Volatile? Grapple hook.
  • No clear route to objective? Grapple hook.
  • Accidentally fall from a fatal height? Grapple hook.

So yeah, I’ve become kind of dependant on my web slinging prowess grapple hook. The fear of nightfall has certainly gone as nothing can catch me and I’m a lot less weary when running around now. I’ve found plenty of guns now as well; so again, it’s somewhat of a different game to what I started playing a few weeks ago. Less of a survival horror, more of a free-running FPS. Oh how familiar!

Dying Light still managed to creep me out in a couple of places though, which was nice.

Expectation…

I’ve gathered a ton of momentum in Dying Light so I’d like to finally finish the story. I’m around 70% of the way through according to my in-game stats so it’s certainly feasible. I’ve discovered a new enemy too, the ‘Screamer’. Which as you can imagine, makes a right racket and draws legions of undead to your location. My first encounter was rather comical, the build up was during a similar time to the above screenshot. Whilst wandering the dark corridors of a building, there was a faint, yet distinct child crying. Whilst thinking to myself “Why is there always a baby crying?“, I paid it little mind, assuming it was just to add atmospheric tension in a true horror-game cliché. The last thing I expected was to have a screaming child sprint a me, actually, the screaming may have been my own… everything was a bit of a blur. Low and behold, I had to scarper, pursued by 20-or-so infected. Once I’d dealt with these, I returned to the room. In a blind panic, I ran round the corner, jumped in the air and dropkicked the young child right in the mouth.

I can now finally justify dropkicking children in the face, without facing the repercussions and judgement of modern society. So I’m looking forward to kicking more of these right in the chops. What a time to be alive!

screamerconcepts

I’m in two minds where to go from here. Once I’ve finished the story, do I continue on with the DLC and side-quests? Or do I shove something else in the drive and make progress on that? Decisions, decisions. Time will tell, I suppose.

fastforward48hours

…Reality.

In the words of a famous hobbit from The Shire; “It’s done“.

After a total of 28 hours, I’ve finally finished Dying Light‘s storyline. The cut-scene button interactions seemed a peculiar way to end the game with, especially as nothing like that had been used throughout the game. Despite the unexpected button-bash prompts, I’ve really enjoyed the game. The story has been alright too, with some good character-building sequences. I might write a review actually, and stick it in my review list.

So, did I start up Metro: Last Light? Pfft, you think too much of of me. Of course I didn’t. I moved straight on to The Following expansion for Dying Light. I’m glad I finished the main game’s story before starting this, it certainly feels more of a sequel/follow on that just an additional quest-line. I’m also really glad that my character carries over, along with his stats and inventory.

The DLC has me journeying to the countryside to look for Antizen, a drug that helps slow the rate of infection once bitten. At the minute, I’m asking questions about some holes in the plot. Harran was supposed to be cut off from the outside world in order to prevent the virus from infecting other countries. A huge plot-point in the main game is that of the world’s governments attempt to bomb the city in order to wipe everything out. So how come there are zombies in the countryside? You can’t put a block on that. So has the virus spread to other countries? I’m sure these questions of mine will be answered as I progress through the game, but at the minute I’m really hoping they aren’t mistakes made by the developer. Also, how are there so many zombies in the out of the city? Whenever I go walking in the countryside, I’m lucky if I see more that 2 people in an hour, The Following has fields full of undead eager to munch on my limbs. Where have they come from?

I have to admit, as much as I’m enjoying this expansion, it shares lots of similarities to the Far Cry series. I could see them in the main game, but now that I have access to an off-road buggy and the implementation of towers (although not used in the same repetitive, tedious way) I can feel the similarities all the more. Not that it’s a bad thing, as the Far Cry series is one that I really enjoy, but it does feel unoriginal to a degree. But meh, zombies!

I’m only around 1-2 hours into The Following so I’m sure there’s plenty more to come.

Proud as Punch!

Duh, it’s not every day you get the opportunity to kick a baby in the face. But I’ve gone one better. I could have mentioned finally finishing the story, but this felt much more satisfying.

I mentioned unlocking the grapple hook. Well, I shot across a room using said piece of equipment and fly-kicked this little brat right in the nose knocking him to the ground. Whilst he dished out some breakdancing moves as he was sprawled over the floor, I’ve stomped on his head.

That’ll teach him. God, I hate kids.

Weekend Wrap-up

I’ve been ill since around Wednesday. Normally, I’m quite the trooper but this wave of illness has hit me like a train. I’ve spent the weekend feeling very sorry for myself, but in a way, it’s been a blessing in disguise. I’ve been able to cancel most of my plans and crack on with my gaming, which has been incredibly productive.

Hopefully I’ll be feeling much better in the next few days. I think I’m on the home straight now.


So, how did you fare over the glorious weekend. Are you already on countdown to the next?

Leave a Reply

