Multi-million gold coin industry

Standard

Money rules the world, whether you like it or not. You have to literally spend your entire life earning money just to get by. In many cases; normal is getting dressed in clothes that you buy for work and driving through traffic in a car that you are still paying for – in order to get to the job you need to pay for the clothes and the car, and the house you leave vacant all day so you can afford to live in it. As was famously said by an American journalist called Ellen Goodman. You see, you’ll get a broad range of nonsense here on this blog.

So how does this relate to gaming I hear you ask? In life, money talks; and in lots of games, money talks even louder. You want that enchanted blade with the huge damage boosts? It’ll cost ya. Games of all genres have in-game currencies nowadays: from fantasy RPG’s, to space exploration games, to even First Person Shooters and sports games.

Money really does make the world go round. Since my world revolves around gaming, it’s starting to spin pretty damn fast.

Now, I don’t know if I can speak for anyone else here, but I put a lot of effort into earning my keep in games. I grind out a lot of hours, and a lot a hard graft in making money to spend on cute little outfits or new gun attachments. Runescape was a biggie in my youth; I’d spend countless hours picking flax only to then sell it on to someone itching to increase their fletching skill. That’s the beauty in all of this though, you find little niches and ways to make the money you need. On EA’s Fifa Ultimate Team, i’d find myself collecting up a certain player and then selling them all on for a much higher price. It’s a great feeling knowing that you’re controlling the market. In Grand Theft Auto Online, in the early days i’d grind through races to make as much money as i could, they’ve since nerved the payout so it’s hardly worth the effort. I’d often do the old glitch of robbing a store, pausing and then robbing again. Averaging around $1,000 a minute. Since that’s been patched up, I’ve had to find other ways and that’s actually a great lesson in life.

rbxjjt7gzv6vlpayz2jxhgh0dha6ly9plmltz3vylmnvbs9bm0fmrk9flnbuzw

It’s a dog eat dog world out there

But why do I not put the same amount of effort into real-life money-making (obviously not robbing a liquor store!)? Why can’t I find that special niche in the real world that I so desperately search for in a game? That gap in the market? Perhaps it’s the fear of gambling my own money. I suppose that when you’re immersed in a game, you still have the subliminal knowledge of realising that it’s not real and no matter how much money you make or lose, it won’t have any effect on your real life. At least not adversely.

5452d508

If Khajiit has wares, I most certainly have coin.

So, will I change? Will I play less in order to make more?

No.

No I won’t.

Leave a Reply

